Friday, December 16, 2016

The 8 Limbs of Yoga!

1. Yama - Attitudes towards our environment comprising: ahimsa - ethic of non-violence, restraint from lying, stealing, greed.

2. Niyama - attitudes towards ourselves - comprising cleanliness, serenity, study, devotion and asceticism.

3. Asana - positioning of the body while incorporating the breath to achieve a greater awareness of the mind.

4. Pranayama - breath control - energizing and balancing of the mind-body through stilling and flow of breath (prana).

5. Pratyahara - Sense withdrawal - relaxation and internalization of the senses in order to activate the mind.

6. Dharana - concentration - focus and holding of attention.

7. Dhyana - meditation - prolonged concentration fills the whole consciousness.

8. Samadhi - ultimate state of self - realization leads to blissful state, the awakened state or liberation.

Slow and steady we move towards an awakened state of being!

Mary Jane Kasliner

No comments:

Post a Comment

Always happy to hear your comments...

Simple Ways to Shed the Old

Letting go of the old can be hurtful. It's like claws leaving a mark on your skin. It's real easy to put those old habits on...